Eggdiction

Something off my bucket list today – trying eggs benedict at a local cafe.
Cafés are a perfect place for respite from the hustle and bustle of city life. Especially for a fast-paced city like mine, there’s no end to worries, work and responsibilities. I would never have imagined that I would be this burdened during a supposed ‘holiday’ period. Working has widened my eyes to a whole new world and it has definitely given me a lot more things to do in the midst of my university and scholarship applications.
It’s a wonder I haven’t taken the time off to try a cafe. I’ve always wanted to try unwinding at quaint little cafés around town, especially those at Tiong Bahru area. Reading about eggs benny on others’ blogs made me crave to try it (I really love eggs!). As such, I’m extremely glad there’s a wonderful, worthy quaint cafe so near my workplace in the middle of an industrial area – Backstage Cafe. No OOTDs there because I wasn’t properly dressed, but the experience was something I was truly excited about in the middle of the long week.
Needless to say, I tried the Eggs Benedict ($13) – a truly delightful dish.

Processed with VSCOcam with s2 preset
Although a little pricey to me, especially with such a small serving which didn’t fill my stomach, I absolutely loved the raw egg and the honey-laced ham. The egg and ham together gave the dish a lot of taste which wasn’t too strong, although in my opinion, the sauce they marinated the salad with was too strong, something my colleague agreed with as well. The vegetables would have tasted nicer with a sauce less strong which pretty much filled up my whole mouth and left a lingering ‘spicy’ taste afterwards, which was unfortunately a little too much for me to handle. I gulped down tons of water afterwards.
My colleague had a set meal where they served soup and a free flow of ice cream, something we all took advantage of on a sweltering hot day. We went for three rounds of ice cream, trying out the different flavours. I wished I had more. The soup, on the other hand, was a little bland to me, lacking in taste. Although it was pleasant enough to drink, I still don’t know what soup it was. I do think the taste could have been brought out more strongly.
It was a lovely respite during my lunch break. The ambience of the place was good. Even though it wasn’t designed to be brightly lit, the atmosphere offered a slow, cosy environment for workers to chill and enjoy their meal while away from work for one hour. I was particularly glad it wasn’t too crowded and that the food was served pretty quickly so that I wasn’t late back to work. I’m looking forward to having the opportunity to try their drinks and cakes the next time I go.
I might just be hooked onto this dish if I eat it too often.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with s2 preset

Leave a Reply

